We are independent & ad-supported. We may earn a commission for purchases made through our links.

Advertiser Disclosure

Our website is an independent, advertising-supported platform. We provide our content free of charge to our readers, and to keep it that way, we rely on revenue generated through advertisements and affiliate partnerships. This means that when you click on certain links on our site and make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn more.

How We Make Money

We sustain our operations through affiliate commissions and advertising. If you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase, we may receive a commission from the merchant at no additional cost to you. We also display advertisements on our website, which help generate revenue to support our work and keep our content free for readers. Our editorial team operates independently from our advertising and affiliate partnerships to ensure that our content remains unbiased and focused on providing you with the best information and recommendations based on thorough research and honest evaluations. To remain transparent, we’ve provided a list of our current affiliate partners here.

What is the Abel Prize?

Mary McMahon
Updated Jan 21, 2024
Our promise to you
AllTheScience is dedicated to creating trustworthy, high-quality content that always prioritizes transparency, integrity, and inclusivity above all else. Our ensure that our content creation and review process includes rigorous fact-checking, evidence-based, and continual updates to ensure accuracy and reliability.

Our Promise to you

Founded in 2002, our company has been a trusted resource for readers seeking informative and engaging content. Our dedication to quality remains unwavering—and will never change. We follow a strict editorial policy, ensuring that our content is authored by highly qualified professionals and edited by subject matter experts. This guarantees that everything we publish is objective, accurate, and trustworthy.

Over the years, we've refined our approach to cover a wide range of topics, providing readers with reliable and practical advice to enhance their knowledge and skills. That's why millions of readers turn to us each year. Join us in celebrating the joy of learning, guided by standards you can trust.

Editorial Standards

At AllTheScience, we are committed to creating content that you can trust. Our editorial process is designed to ensure that every piece of content we publish is accurate, reliable, and informative.

Our team of experienced writers and editors follows a strict set of guidelines to ensure the highest quality content. We conduct thorough research, fact-check all information, and rely on credible sources to back up our claims. Our content is reviewed by subject matter experts to ensure accuracy and clarity.

We believe in transparency and maintain editorial independence from our advertisers. Our team does not receive direct compensation from advertisers, allowing us to create unbiased content that prioritizes your interests.

The Abel Prize is sometimes called the mathematician's Nobel, and is awarded to individuals who have contributed significant work to the field of mathematics. The first Abel Prize was awarded in 2003 to Jean-Pierre Serre of France for his work on number theory, algebraic geometry, and topology, which is the study of geometric figures and the effects of bending and stretching. Mathematicians feel that the recognition given to the field of mathematics by the Abel Prize is long overdue, as the Nobel Prizes have been awarded for over one hundred years.

The Abel Prize was originally supposed to begin in 1902, when King Oscar II of Sweden and Norway expressed an interest in creating a prize in mathematics equivalent to the Nobel. Niels Henrik Abel was a 19th century Norwegian mathematician born in 1902. Although he was only 26 when he died, Abel's work was of immense value to the field. His work on group theory and algebra is still used in a variety of situations, and most math students learn about and use his work.

The idea of an Abel Prize in mathematics had been proposed before, but the prize lacked the momentum of a large prize fund. In 1905, Sweden and Norway were separated, and the idea for a prize in mathematics died out. Some regret was expressed by mathematicians and scientists at the time. In 2001, the idea of an Abel Prize was revived, and a group convened to discuss the terms of the prize, its bylaws, and how the nomination process would work. A proposal for the Abel Prize was sent to the Prime Minister of Norway.

The Prime Minister was supportive of the idea, announcing the establishment of a fund in late 2001 to support the Abel Prize. In 2002, nominations for the first Abel Prize winner were solicited. Anyone can make a nomination for the Abel Prize, which must include a curriculum vitae for the mathematician being nominated, and an overview of the mathematician's work. Contact information for experts who can be consulted may be included. Deceased mathematicians cannot be nominated, although if a mathematician dies during the nomination process, the Abel Prize can be awarded posthumously. Mathematicians cannot nominate themselves, and the nominations remain anonymous. Prize winners are announced in the Spring.

The Abel Prize has a committee which evaluates nominees. The committee makes a recommendation to the Norwegian Academy of Letters and Sciences, which ultimately selects the laureate. The first Abel Prize carried a cash award of one million US Dollars. Events are associated with the awarding of the Abel Prize, and the committee also sponsors the Abel Symposia, a series of international academic conferences on emerging topics in mathematics.

AllTheScience is dedicated to providing accurate and trustworthy information. We carefully select reputable sources and employ a rigorous fact-checking process to maintain the highest standards. To learn more about our commitment to accuracy, read our editorial process.
Mary McMahon
By Mary McMahon

Ever since she began contributing to the site several years ago, Mary has embraced the exciting challenge of being a AllTheScience researcher and writer. Mary has a liberal arts degree from Goddard College and spends her free time reading, cooking, and exploring the great outdoors.

Discussion Comments

Mary McMahon

Mary McMahon

Ever since she began contributing to the site several years ago, Mary has embraced the exciting challenge of being a...

Read more
AllTheScience, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.

AllTheScience, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.